Sat Navs

Any motorcycle related topics that you want to discuss - no politics, religion, insults or offensive material

Moderator: Moderators

andys
Forum User
Country of Residence: UK

Sat Navs

Postby andys » Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:39 pm

Sorry if this has been covered before.
If it has perhaps I could have a link.
I was just about to pull the trigger on a Tom Tom 500 but am put off be consistently bad reviews.
Real world opinions on whatever you're using gratefully received.

peter
Club Member 14
Country of Residence: Netherlands

Re: Sat Navs

Postby peter » Sun Aug 30, 2020 8:58 pm

I have no experience with TomTom but I do have some Garmin experience.
When riding small roads, the Zumo 550 is still the best for motorcycling but it is end of life for some years now.
The Zumo 595 is available in different versions. I have a Travel Edition. The setback on this one is that you have a lifetime update for the 595 but not for the PC (even the reseller didn't know about that and provided a workaround). Another minus on the current Garmin devicescomes up when you try to load pre made routes. The number of points for the 595 is about 25 "hard points" (don't know exact) if you have more points you will have to convert them into "soft points". A problem the Zumo 550 didn't had and a problem old TomTom devices had but seems solved on the current ones.
While riding you need to get to the "hard points". When Off-route you will be send to the last "hard point" you've missed. If you miss some soft points you will be send to the next "hard point". With the 550 you could just ignore the sending back and it would automaticly send you to the next point.
The best way to transfer a route to a Zumo 595 is first to use Basecamp to convert it to a track, send the track to the 595 and let it convert to a route. When riding the route you should recalculation to "off" to prevent recalculating and sending you direct to the end skipping the rest of the route.