Headlight not working

Post your G Series Technical Q&A's here

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
RogueAssassin
Forum User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:42 am
Country of Residence: Leicester

Headlight not working

Postby RogueAssassin » Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:31 am

So having a few issues with my Bmw f800gs 2009.

The bulb went on my headlights so I replaced it with a working bulb. The main headlight now no longer works and my cluster is saying bulb warning.

I have tried multiple working bulbs and nothing. Yes the engine is running and still nothing.

I understand that there is no fuses on the gs so how would I fix this issue?

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Amy


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
george baker
Club Member 14
Posts: 7762
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:51 am
Country of Residence: uk
Location: Manchester,UK

Re: Headlight not working

Postby george baker » Sat Jun 06, 2020 1:27 pm

Hi
is it CAN bus? Does the ECU need to be told about the lamp?

George
Member 21, R100R, and an under used K75

User avatar
RogueAssassin
Forum User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:42 am
Country of Residence: Leicester

Re: Headlight not working

Postby RogueAssassin » Sat Jun 06, 2020 1:28 pm

Hi
is it CAN bus? Does the ECU need to be told about the lamp?

George
Everything I am reading online is leading me to believe that it is CAN bus.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike D
Forum User
Posts: 1826
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 3:12 pm
Country of Residence: UK
Location: Near Daventry, UK

Re: Headlight not working

Postby Mike D » Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:32 pm

If the 'Lamp fail' was only illuminated after the original bulb failed, and your dip beam is still working, then it appears that the replacement bulbs are drawing too much or too little current which the control module registers as a fault and closes down that circuit.

Does your headlight use a combined main/dip bulb, or do you have a separate headlight for each function?

Do you have access to a fault code reader (like a GS--911) to try and reset the lamp fail (even though it should reset itself with a new bulb).

P.S. Your bike is an F series not G series so perhaps a moderator could move it to the correct location.

Mike


Return to “G Series Technical Queries”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest